About Kosher Wine

Kosher wine is made just like other table wine, with an extra set of rules to make it consistent with Jewish dietary law. In order for a wine to be deemed kosher, it must be made under the supervision of a rabbi. The wine must contain only kosher ingredients (including yeast and fining agents), and it must be processed using equipment rabbinically certified to make kosher wines. The wine can only be handled -- from the vine to the wineglass -- by Sabbath-observant Jews, unless the wine is mevushal.

Mevushal wines, unlike ordinary kosher wines, can be handled and served by non-Jews. To be considered mevushal, a wine must be heated to 185 degrees F. Extended exposure to high temperatures can threaten a wine's character, but producers have developed flash-pasteurization techniques that minimize the effect on the wine's flavor.

Please feel free to give us a call or send us an email with any questions regarding kosher wine.

Featured Items